Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Akwa Ibom Governors Since its creation


135 1 total views, 21 1 views today

Akwa Ibom is a state in Nigeria. It is located in the coastal southern part of the country, lying between latitudes 4°32′N and 5°33′N, and longitudes 7°25′E and 8°25′E. The state is located in the South-South geopolitical zone, and is bordered on the east by Cross River State, on the west by Rivers State and Abia State, and on the south by the Atlantic Ocean and the southernmost tip of Cross River State.

Akwa Ibom is one of Nigeria’s 36 states, with a population of over five million people. The state was created in 1987 by Ibrahim Babangida from the former Cross River State and is currently the highest oil- and gas-producing state in the country. The state’s capital is Uyo, with over 500,000 inhabitants. Akwa Ibom has an airport and two major seaports on the Atlantic Ocean with a proposed construction of a seaport at Ibaka, Oron. The state also has a 30,000-seat sports complex. It is shaped like the Allianz arena stadium. Akwa Ibom state is also home to the Ibom E-Library, an information centre. In addition to English, the main spoken languages are Ibibio, Annang, Ekid, Oro and Obolo.

DID YOU SEE THIS:  Akwa Ibom Celebrates 2020: 23 September Orange September Pictures Frame
1Tunde Ogbeha(Sept 28, 1987  – Aug. 1, 1988)


2Godwin Abbe(Aug. 1, 1988 – Sept. 9, 1990)


3Idongesit Nkanga(September 5, 1990 – Jan. 2, 1992)


4Akpan Isemin (Late)(January 2, 1992 – Nove. 17, 1993)


5Yakubu Bako(Dec. 15, 1993 – Aug. 21, 1996)


6Joseph A. Adeusi (Late)(Aug. 21, 1996 – Aug. 10, 1998)


7Eyepeiyah John Ebiye(Aug. 10, 1998 – May 29, 1999)


8Victor Attah(May 29, 1999 – May 29, 2007)


9Godswill O. Akpabio(May 29, 2007 – May 29, 2015

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More